Basilica to have new community members: administrators starting July 1

Basilica to have new community members: administrators starting July 1

New Members of Community

L-R: Fr. Nelson Zerda, OSA, Rector and Fr. Basilio Sugata-on, OSA, Prior

The Basilica Minore del Sto. Niño de Cebu (BMSN) will have its new community members starting July 1 of this year. This was announced through the Facebook page of the Augustinian Province of Sto. Niño de Cebu-Philippines last May 26 along with the different communities and ministries managed by the Province.

The Province’s reshuffling of assignments usually happens every after 4 years but due to the pandemic it was put on hold for a year. Basilica’s incoming Prior of the community is Rev. Fr. Basilio Sugata-on, OSA, who hails from Antique. Fr. Sugata-on had been assigned at the Augustinian Novitiate and Prayer House in Talisay City, University of San Agustin – Iloilo. At present, he is the Parish Priest of Nuestra Señora de Gracia Parish, Guadalupe Viejo, Makati City.

Meanwhile the incoming rector is Rev. Fr. Nelson Zerda, OSA, who hails from Surigao del Norte and is an architect by profession. He once taught in the University of the Visayas before joining the Augustinians. Fr. Zerda had been assigned at the University of San Agustin – Iloilo, San Agustin Center of Studies in Quezon City. He was also elected as Provincial counselor and at the same time appointed as Provincial Treasurer from 2004 to 2008. At present, Fr. Zerda is the Prior of San Agustin Seminary Community (Guadalupe Monastery) in Makati City.

The other members of the Basilica community are Rev. Fr. Nestor Bandalan, OSA, (Chairman of the Commission on Liturgy and Augustinian Devotions, Provincial Liturgist, and Provincial Archivist) Rev. Fr. John Ion Miranda, OSA (House and Basilica Treasurer) and Rev. Fr. Mark Anthony Tampos, OSA (Procurator). Moreover, three incumbent members are retained in the Basilica namely: Rev. Fr. Pacifico Nohara, OSA, (Bound for Mission in South Korea) Rev. Fr. Aladdin Luzon, OSA, (Provincial Counselor, Chairman of the Commission on Justice and Peace, Justice and Peace Coordinator, and Sto. Niño de Cebu Augustinian Development Foundation, Inc., Director) and Rev. Fr. Genesis Labana, OSA (Province Mass Media Director).

Spread the love!

Join us!